HomeCaliforniaSanta Cruz, CA → Oceana Inn

Oceana Inn in Santa Cruz, CA

Oceana Inn in Santa Cruz, CA

This page contains the latest information about Oceana Inn in Santa Cruz.

Below you can find the contact details and address, as well as read the reviews and comments about Oceana Inn in Santa Cruz from other users.

For your convenience, below a list of other hotels in Santa Cruz, CA.


Company Info:

Rating: 1.64

Address: 525 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA, 95060

    Hotels in Santa Cruz, CA



    Comments (53):

    1. xanna k.
    the main thing that differentiates the budget stay spots is customer service, and this place had that, both over the phone and in person. i like that it's not a national chain motel affiliated with every other corporation. the rooms were acceptably clean, the more comfortable than expected (especially after two nights on a very crappy motel elsewhere), and the continental breakfast was passable. the hall and outside door thing was kind of confusing and the walls/ceilings are a bit thin. overall a good stay for the big group i brought.

    03/05/11 | Link | Rating: 3.0
    2. mike l.
    This place quoted me on the phone for 59.00, I said AAA, they said $5 off, 54.00. This then came out to $72 when at the desk. The dude quoted "taxes, fees, maintenance" for the reasoning. The girlfriend went back in and asked about the rate, he checked the computer and said "well we have you down for 59" and we walked away too tired to care/fight. Annoying. They should have disclosed this all over the phone, but didn't.

    17/01/12 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    3. Angela O.
    look you're getting what you pay for. The room was ok, there was a fridge, the bathroom was ok, no tub only showers not that I would have wanted to bathe. Came here on NYE and it got the job done since its close walking distance to downtown. the staff was nice and I paid 50 bucks for the place, I mean I cant really complain about that but its not a place I would go if I was planning on spending more then a nights rest and very little time inside the hotel itself!

    03/01/11 | Link | Rating: 3.0
    4. Rene B.
    Pros - the room was clean.  It was quiet. Cons - The bed was as hard as the floor.  The staff is not nice.  You are frequently made to feel  like it is a bother for you to be there.  Shon and Tika refused to give a AAA discount but could not offer any reason.   I've never stayed anywhere that made me pay $100 deposit when I arrived and had to inspect the room when I was checking out.  I had no choice but to report that my room might smell like smoke because the smoke from the neighbor came in from the balcony.  I was told by Shon that it was my fault because I shouldn't have left the door open.  I paid an extra fee for a balcony but he didn't want me to go out there???  If they had decided I smoked or took their towels, or misused their towels or any other reason they could come up with they would then keep the deposit.  I guess I passed the inspection but keep in mind that although the room is more affordable than some others, you could easily get stuck for an extra $100.

    21/07/13 | Link | Rating: 2.0
    5. Joseph P.
    Extra large room, we got there early and saw the maid washing the floors,cleaning the bathroom and changed all the bedding. Great location and price.

    25/01/12 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    6. Kayla S.
    You get what you pay for. I decided I was probably cleaner than the shower. The sink took a long time to drain it seems they have a drainage problem for you can hear it from other rooms. The ceilings were then since we could hear the people above us all night. What concerned me is they charge towels if you steal or "misuse" the towels. I don't exactly know what miss using a towel would be but it concerned me. I don't know if I miss used the towel buy wetting with soap and water and wiping down the remote to find it pretty gross. The fridge was small and ended up freezing everything. But again you get what you pay for.Oh and don't let the formally travelodge fool you. I choose this hotel over others based on this factor since I had never had problems with travelodge; however they do not live up to the travelodge standard.

    02/02/12 | Link | Rating: 2.0
    7. Felicia F.
    i don't know how other hotels in santa cruz compare, but I did not think this inn was anything spectacular...I guess you get what you pay for. The only issue I had though was the rude guy at the reception. I asked if I could check out a little bit later and he said yes of course...with a $25 fee for an extra hour...wtf, I paid $100 for a night, thats a quarter of my night's stay. fucking douchebag. And to top it off, I wanted to get a paper receipt when checking out and he told me it'll be emailed to me. Are they trying to save money on paper? I haven't even gotten my receipt thru email yet and I better not see extra charges or I'll be more pissed.

    18/10/11 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    8. A. H.
    NEVER Stay with this Hotel, they blamed me for stealing a crusty towel and a crusty pillow! Charged my card for $45.00... YES for crusty towels and bed bug ridden pillows!!! without my approval!!! They are LIARS AND THIEVES!!! The hotel was CRUSTY and the owners are COMPLETELY insane!

    18/11/11 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    9. Shelbie S.
    Worst hotel ever... First of all we called and reserved a room for Thursday and Friday night. We prepaid for the hotel and told the lady we would most likely be arriving after 12am due to traffic. When we arrived at 12:15am we saw the bellman in the process of giving our room away to another customer because he was "not informed of late check in". After much deliberation we finally got the keys to our room. Upon entering our room, one of the children sat on the edge of the bed and the headboard immediately fell off the wall and almost knocked out one of the other children. The floorboards where warped and were buckling throughout the room practically pinching your feet as you walk on it. The carpets in the hallway were dirty. The blankets had holes in them, and the beds are a simple piece of foam over hard springs. One of the children couldn't even sleep in the pullout bed because it was broken to the point where the springs were exposed and the left leg of the bed was broken as well. The walls were extremely thin and all of the children had to hear the people in the room next to us fornicating for 3 hours. In addition to the bathroom floor, shower and walls having traces of mold, the bathrooms were dirty with dark black hair and the towels were extremely warn out. There were hardly any outlets in the room and the only outlets available were cracked or exposed.  Do not come here, it is not a suitable environment for children. Just put out the money and stay somewhere else.

    21/07/13 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    10. Surai J.
    This motel has 1 highly desirable feature, a MUST for santa cruz, INTERIOR CORRIDORS that lock.  You need that in santa cruz.

    Basic motel rooms with mini frig and micro with shower (no bath).  A hint of roach motel scent but other than that, it's a solid basic, cleaner than most santa cruz motels.

    23/10/10 | Link | Rating: 3.0
    11. Paul N.
    I stayed here for one night, and that was during the weekend of the Santa Cruz 10K Run and the rates were alright ($55 plus tax around March-April). The room I had was pretty clean, but some of the towels look like they needed to be replaced along with the bed conforter. It did have a microwave and a small refrigerator, which was helpful. This motel might be good for one night if you desperately need a place to stay in Santa Cruz, but I wouldn't use it for more than that length of time, though.

    01/04/12 | Link | Rating: 3.0
    12. Anthony B.
    Stayed here for one night in November 2012.
    Called Friday night and the person answering (Samson) was friendly and specific about the room and asked if I had AAA in order to give me discount.
    I was pleasantly impressed, a good price, and a clean room with a mini-fridge.  For added security, which I like, you must use your room key for access to the lobby/rooms.
    I felt this was a good value and will stay there again on my visits to Santa Cruz.

    26/11/12 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    13. Matt C.
    Very decent hotel. Only downside is that the "continental breakfast" is an embarrassment: Frosted Flakes, Raisin Bran, white bread, milk, OJ, coffee. That's it.

    18/05/12 | Link | Rating: 3.0
    14. Harold B.
    Just got the bill for an 11 night stay at this travelodge formerly  "Oceana Inn". We have been staying here for the past 13 years once or twice a year.  The hotel is okay and they provide adequit service.
    After years of seeing the owners tack on one fee after another this last fee "linen service" plus "marketing fee" is the last straw! A hotel should just give you a room rate and be done with it! Russ thinks it is good policy to charge extra for what is normal room inclusive fees.  It is only an extra $5.50 a day. Get real! You can scan your old custmers and new but you won't be scamming this anymore!
    The total was $65.65 extra in his fees. That is a night stay!
    Russ, what about an energy fee? People use your electricy, right?
    Maybe charge for parking that could help you make ends meet.
    Oh, the only reason your don't charge for 1/2 a muffin and coffee is that the state would have to consider your a food service provider.
    Good bye Russ and your shenanigans

    08/04/13 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    15. Ryan S.
    The worst place I have ever stayed, WAY over price $210 for a one bed room. The mattress had springs coming through, the whole hall way smelled like cigarettes, the whole shower is covered in mold and the just patched areas with silicone to hide it. The towels were very thin with holes in them. The "40 inch flat screen" was a 28 inch tube tv from the late 70s. There was no extra outlets. you can hear every sound outside. The first night there was multiple rooms partying (we stayed July 5th and 6th) though out the night, I went to outside to have a smoke the first night and there was  a woman throwing up outside her room. The next night there was homeless people sitting and talking in the parking lot after going through the dumpster. The Motel is NOT safe for family's or anyone for that matter. I would never go there again!! I do not know how they passed the health inspection

    08/07/13 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    16. Janice N.
    For$193 a night this place was nasty. Dirty, dingy. I felt like taking a shower after taking a shower in the nasty shower stall. I didn't even want to walk bare foot on the carpet.

    17/08/13 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    17. Jill K.
    Do not stay here. I can not stress that enough. If you value your safety and your possessions, DO NOT STAY HERE. My experience here would have been average had the room not fallen apart and smashed my computer. A 40lb wooden curtain hanging unit fell out of the wall smashing my laptop computer screen, rendering it unusable. Smashing my boyfriend's computer tracking pad. While also hitting my boyfriend on the head. Upon examining the unit, we noticed that it was only held into the wall by 2 drywall screws. An accident waiting to happen. The hotel manager, Seema, was initially apologetic. That quickly changed after we finished our stay and left the hotel premises. They would not return our phone calls. The alleged insurance claim that they made, suddenly disappeared. Once we finally got them on the phone, were told that they would not be compensating us for the damages their shoddy workmanship caused to our belongings. We are in the process of filing a lawsuit against the hotel.

    06/11/13 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    18. Steven P.
    when I talked to the owner he admitted he dose this to people to because he thinks its fun to torment people and steal from them cause there is nothing they can do about it, he said people will stay here no matter how bad it is 1, because of the price 2, because there not enough motels in Santa Cruz, he ended the conversation with FUCK YOU if you dont like it sleep in your car.. and hung up on me.

    11/06/13 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    19. Ray N.
    Don't be fooled by the fresh paint on the exterior of the building. I was and ended up feeling even more upset about the over all condition of the room. I thought for a brief second that maybe, just maybe, the place wasn't going to be as bad as the reviews. The room is absolutely depressing and horrid. The bathroom has extensive water damage. The furnishings look like they were picked up outside of the goodwill, Saturday night, after the failed yard sale. The bed spread looks like an actual article from a Febreeze commercial  (the one where the people are blind folded and they are sitting in the filth of a homeless encampment.) Some how they must have spent a considerable amount of energy finding the cheapest mattress on the planet. It is hard and noisy.  The walls are paper thin and if someone walks to quickly upstairs, it sounds like someone is coming through the ceiling.  If this is what we have come to accept from $200 a night Hotels in Santa Cruz then why bother coming here.

    27/09/13 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    20. Amber V.
    This place is a hole, and the owner seemed shady. I guess you get what you pay for!!!

    28/02/14 | Link | Rating: 2.0
    21. Mysti D.
    I thought I liked the new front desk people until one of them barged in my room w/out knocking while I was sleeping and told me he's calling the police on me! It was only noon, and I told them I was staying another day, chill out and call or knock. very rude and extremely traumatizing. I think that is illegal and he had my credit card on file. I will NEVER go back SHAME ON YOU YOU BULLY! I NEVER HAD SUCH A SCARY EXPERIENCE. DO NOT GO HERE Continental Inn much better.

    22/07/13 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    22. Julie Z.
    A week of comfort: Russ and Seema rock. They are polite, friendly, unobtrusive, consistent in service for the room AND GO ABOVE & BEYOND.
    Thanks for being so hospitable. I visited in April, for the first time, and got the name of the place mixed up with a similar hotel on the same street. So here's my first review:
    A week of comfort: Russ and Seema rock. They are polite, friendly, unobtrusive, consistent in service for the room AND GO ABOVE & BEYOND.
    Thanks for being so hospitable.

    My second trip I had this to say: By far the best of four hotels I've stayed at in Santa Cruz. I can't see the bathroom from the main room, that's a plus, I didn't have to plug anything in to get it working --it already was, plenty of room to put my things, it wasn't too big and it wasn't too small, I didn't have to lug things upstairs, I wasn't asked nosy questions to have it turn on me later, they fold their towels cute like dinner napkins in fine dining. There's a safe, the fan in the bathroom is optional vs. too loud to hear anyone at the door, the wi-fi code is already on my key jacket --I didn't have to write it down and keep track of it. The guests are spaced out to give breathing room on less busy/weekday time. Excellent customer service.

    27/11/12 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    23. Alexandria W.
    We booked our room on Orbitz.com and they messed up our reservation. When we got to the actual hotel they said all they had left were smoking rooms. When we walked in to the room it was as if we walked into a dive bar. The smoke was entirely too strong to bare. My boyfriend and I thought we could handle the room for the night until we say blood on the curtains!!! This totally freaked us not. This place was filthy and looks as if it houses meth users on a daily bases. Their were no liners in the trash. Bathroom was filthy, nothing was as if Gould have been given the price we paid. We called Best Western across the street an we were immediately accommodated. The women at the front desk matched out price of $160 and gave us the bridal suite!! This was the best disaster I must say. I wouldn't suggest this hotel for my worst enemy.

    08/09/13 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    24. Barbara N.
    Unacoomodating, loud, dirty. Never, ever stay here. My upstairs neighbors are so loud and the floors are so thin. There are very few people here and I asked to kindly be moved after the front desk wouldn't ask the neighbors to quiet down. He says no and lied about them being sold out.  I can see they are not and also I went online to double check. Lie!

    25/01/14 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    25. Crystal G.
    I have stayed here quite a few times due to the location and distance to the boardwalk and downtown, however after our last stay, I will not be returning. We booked a non-smoking room and paid a $100 deposit. When we went to check out, the front desk staff claimed the room "smelled like smoke" and that they would not be returning our deposit, despite the fact that neither of us smoked. The hotel staff were rude and had no evidence to back up their claim other than there were apparently "ashes outside of our window". Terrible service. On top of that, the sink did not drain and was spewing up gunk for a good portion of our stay. Next time, I will definitely shell out the cash to book a room at the Best Western across the street - or anywhere else, for that matter. I'd recommend anyone even considering this hotel do the same, or expect to be ripped off.

    Pros - The room does have a safe, mini-fridge and microwave.

    Cons - Everything else.

    09/07/12 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    26. Erin S.
    Pros: a free mini fridge. Kept all my booze cold. Some rooms have a balcony which was pretty sweet for sippin those ice-cold beers. The proximity to "downtown" is key, it was an easy walk even after sippin all those ice-cold beers on the balcony. Friendly desk staff.

    Cons: the internet suuuuucccks. Couldn't get it to work at all. Despite the cleanliness of the room there was no toilet paper holder. WTH is that about? I mean, in my house I hardly ever put the toilet paper on the holder but I dont get paid to do it. The rooms are ugly and in need of some upgrades. Noticed they were ugly even after the aforementioned beers.

    overall: good, cheap & easy hotel for a night or two. wouldn't recommend staying more than that.

    14/09/12 | Link | Rating: 3.0
    27. Cara L.
    I don't even know where to begin.

    Let's start with the noise:
    If you think it's going to be a nice and quiet relaxing weekend away, you're dead wrong! There were 2 doors in our room. The door that leads to the parking lot  had a 1/2 inch gap under the door and a 1/4 inch gap around the rest that lets in ample amounts of noise from the parking lot, street, people walking by and I'm sure plenty of creepy crawlies. We had to stuff towels into these gaps just to feel a little better about going to sleep that night. The other door leads to the hallway where you can hear everything as well. And let's not forget both of these doors have "locks" that barely engage. The floors are laminate wood and creak and crack when a cockroach walks on them and yes there were cockroaches! The hotel has multiple levels and we also heard every creak and crack from the herd of buffalo that was apparently staying above us. They stomped and walked and danced? until 11:30 and then again from 1:30-2:00 and then again at 2:30. Almost forgot the mattress that sounded "Like you were sleeping on a bunch of Dorito bags", quoted from my husband. Just breathing made this bed make noise. We even looked under, around and through the whole thing and couldn't figure it out. Needless to say we did not sleep. At all. Even my kids who can sleep through a tornado, woke up all night long.

    Let's move on to cleanliness and maintenance:
    Cockroaches and mold! I think that is all I need to say about that. One of the other reviews said the curtain rod fell and hit her BF and broke their things? That does not surprise me at all. Everything in the room was the cheapest stuff they could find and the cheapest fix possible. The shower head needed to be replaced, the drywall in the entire bathroom needed to be replaced, the comforters looked like they had been purchased at the local Goodwill 20 years ago (they were stained and falling apart, so gross!). The only thing I saw that may have been newer was the laminate flooring, but I think we all know why hotels don't use that....because it's too noisy! But we're talking about people who are looking for cheap and it's cheaper to wipe down a floor rather than clean carpet. There are no couches or chairs to sit in (like the pictures show), but that's probably a good thing, I can't imagine what might be on them.

    Curtains did not block out light. We had parking lot lights blaring at us all night and then had to wake up, oh wait we didn't sleep, we had to get up at sunrise because it was so bright.
    Continental breakfast was a joke! I don't care what those pictures show, there was cold cereal, oranges and coffee (I'm surprised they splurged on sugar and creamer).

    The Staff:
    The girl we talked to at 2:00 am was really nice and apologetic and the walking ceased about 5 mins later. Then at check out we complained about multiple things and the woman said her rehearsed line, "I'm so sorry to hear that, but unfortunately there's nothing we can do about that since you booked through Expedia. If you had booked through us I could have given you a discount." Yeah right! And then when we figured out, after being on the road for 2 hours, that my sons hid my daughter's favorite teddy bear in the hotel room and we called to ask them to ship it to us and got the rehearsed line again, "I'm so sorry to hear that, but policy is that we do not mail anything, but you can send a prepaid box and we'll send it to you."  What a joke, they can't even spend $5 bucks to send us a tiny teddy bear? We've had Hotels ship us our Boogie boards back, pillows, etc, at no charge! These people don't care about anything except making a buck. So glad we didn't tell them about our 3 kids because apparently they charge an additional $20 a kid!

    You might ask why we didn't leave immediately? Well we got there around 9:00 with a 6, 4 and 2 year old and you don't really realize how bad it is until you settle in for the night and you don't drive your kids around a strange town all night looking for a suitable hotel. Also, there wasn't anything else available, it was Mother's day weekend. This is exactly why I always do the booking and not my husband, lesson learned. I'm sure I'm leaving things out, there was just too much to remember. And I wouldn't trust any review that gives it anything over 2 stars or the name or person look Indian, because I'm sure it's relatives of the owners trying to make it look like a suitable joint.

    Quick checklist:
    Curtains didn't block out any light
    Continental breakfast was Honey Bunches of Oats, Oranges and Coffee
    Owners are money hungry jerks
    Everything in the room is cheap and/or gross
    No couch or chairs to sit in

    13/05/14 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    28. trey j.
    First of all....if you have any plans that will involve using the internet. Do not use this place!!! I came here not aware of the internet problems and it has been very inconvenient. If you must be here request a room close to the office because their router is the only one people are successful in connecting to. Apparently the story is that the owner is aware of the problem but doesn't want to spend the money to fix it.

    Second, the bathrooms here are poor. By this I mean the towels are low quality towels with holes in them. There is also a sign in the bathroom that prices the towels for you in the event you decide to take one! How taste-less.

    Third, the TV. The TVs are tube TVs that are dim. I haven't been in many hotels that still use these. These are outdated and need to be updated to flatscreens.

    Fourth, the Pillows. Pillows here are flat and horrible. I can't believe I would need a pillow.

    Santa Cruz is a dump and this place goes right along with it. I would rather pay more for a place that would feel like a hotel rather than a dump. Don't spend your money here on a place that doesn't try to fix problems they are aware of. This place is basically saying "People are coming anyways so who cares..."

    Move on....

    27/10/12 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    29. Gary C.
    Booked a room with kayak,  forums out it was for a sunday, instead of saturday. Room rate went from $50.00 a night to $ 250.oo won't stay there again. This was my 3rd stay.  Hope others won't get ripped off like this!!!!

    06/10/14 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    30. Rachael R.
    So-so...It's  rundown and pretty noisy. However, the location is great (close to the Boardwalk and Trader Joe's), and the front desk staff was very friendly. Santa Cruz hotels always come with some sticker shock. We payed about $90 for a room that would have been $40 in other parts of the country.

    28/10/14 | Link | Rating: 2.0
    31. Chris R.
    Towels were thin as paper and more suitable size-wise for an infant. The bedding was abominable as there was only a partial bottom sheet & the pillows were too flat. However, the staff was accommodating when asked for a pillow fulfillment. And the television was old school & clunky. But it was a good deal for the Santa Cruz area. So, as the oft-repeated saying goes, 'you get what you pay for,'

    09/11/14 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    32. Jenny F.
    Bloody room! Recently stayed here and there was blood on the curtains,  the bathroom wall, and the worst part of all...blood on my pillow!!!! We were refused any sort of compensation by management when brought to thier attention and the owner left town to avoid the situation! The worst customer service ever! They did not even have a replacement pillow to give us for the bloody one! Do not stay here unless you enjoyed to be disgusted! The worst part was we spent $180.00 as it was a holiday weekend!

    18/02/14 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    33. Tricia W.
    Considering the 3 star review this hotel had on Yelp factored in my decision to stay at Oceana Inn, I had to write a review and maybe save someone else from making the same mistake.

    I stayed at Oceana Feb 15-17. Fri night was $55 and the price lurched to $129 on Sat. I wasn't expecting some luxury hotel (I wanted the Hampton Inn, but they were sold out) but I wasn't expecting a grody, dated, moldy, musty sketchfest either.

    The good:
    -Free parking
    -Free Wifi
    -Cable TV
    -Nice front desk staff

    The bad:
    -The place smelled musty and was only amplified when I ran the old wall AC unit...I just had to deal because without running it, the room was stuffy and unbearable.
    -The bathroom. The. Bathroom. I was greeted by someone else's hair speckled on the cracked floor. The shower was basically a stall like the ones you see at gym/locker room and ineffective for taller people. No rack for the towels. And speaking of said towels, they were stained with what looked like mold.
    -Microwave--the plate obviously didn't go with the microwave because it kept kicking off of the track. But that wasn't the most interesting bit.

    When we first arrived and I warily gave the place the once over, I found the last guest's cellphone sitting inside of the micro. Pretty obvious the maid did a halfway job.
    -The only chair in the room is this rinkydink plastic chair from Ikea.
    -Paper thin walls
    -The lobby area was cute with four chairs for sitting and off in it's own little nook. There was even this hanging modern-esque light fixture, but when I got up close I saw that the chairs were stained, the vent had a yellow water stain around it, and the light fixture had several inches of cobweb and dust. It clearly hadn't been touched in a very long time.

    Just because a place is economy doesn't mean it can't have basic upkeep.

    22/02/13 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    34. Max A.
    The Internet access is worthless. My room had a wet toilet paper wad on the floor and a fleck of "dirt" on the toilet seat. They use that awful colorful 70s/80s camouflage bedspread that never gets washed and is full of cum and blood and urine and also I'm sure some really gross stuff I can't even fathom that CSI a lab probably couldn't even identify. The bed springs are ready to give out. The towels are awful. The appliances are all dated as hell.

    Is it worth 50 bucks for a night? Perhaps....

    I started this review in June and didn't get any further than this. Not sure where else I was going to go with it. I've stayed worse places, but not many. This was pretty awful. I also recall there being transient people staying in some of the rooms.

    05/09/12 | Link | Rating: 2.0
    35. Sarra F.
    Went on vacation and didn't book a room in advance, so when I got into Santa Cruz I just looked for a cheap place-this is totally a "you get what you pay for" situation.
    Girl who greeted us wasn't the most friendly.
    I thought the room might have been a smoking room before because it smelled, upon reading other reviews all the rooms just smell.
    They charge you a possibly-refundable $100 deposit on top of the hotel room price. I paid $69 for a room with my AAA membership card.
    There are quarter-size holes in the bedspreads and the curtains.
    There was some sort I meter on the a/c unit so we were afraid to use it because we didnt know if they would charge is extra.
    They also charge if you "damage, misuse or misplace" any towels.

    Like another review said, it has locking hallways, it has a pool, it has a bed and shower.

    It did the job of giving me a place to throw my things and a place to sleep, but I wouldnt recommend it to anyone, and I won't be staying here again.

    17/07/13 | Link | Rating: 2.0
    36. Mary V.
    Booked a room read yelp reviews tried to cancel in the given 48 hours. Refused refund these Guys  are scum real scum ... read the reviews we should have.
    Scum breeds scum. These places should have health inspectors.

    21/03/14 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    37. Olga P.
    One star is too high of a rating, the quality of the room was awful. It had a pungent stench, that the staff denied and a bed that u couldn't bring my self to sit alone let alone sleep. It was the worst hotel I have seen I. The continental United States. I did not end up staying the night there as there were much better properties closer to the beach and at a cheaper price! I would never stay at this place again!

    01/09/14 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    38. Bob B.
    Poor value for the price they charge on weekends. The ONLY points I give this place are for a good location and easy free parking. A dingy property and room, high room rate and no flexibility on getting a late checkout. Probably not coming back.

    17/08/14 | Link | Rating: 2.0
    39. bernard a.
    The terrible experience I endured at the Oceana Inn was worse than any other in all my life.  The most difficult question about my stay was "what aspect of it was worse, the unwashed bed or the frightening service?"  Myself and the party I came stepped outside for a smoke.  Right as I we lit up, the manager came out and accused us of trespassing and threatened to call the police if vacate the premises immediately.  After telling him that I was a guest, showing him my room key, and telling him that he personally checked us in 30 minutes ago he still persisted to threaten myself and my party.  After extensive argument, we managed to get our money back.  We ended staying at the Ocean Pacific Lodge and were happily accommodated.

    31/01/15 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    40. Henna S.
    Worst place ever! I've been on hold for six minutes and now being told by their front desk manager Brooke to call back in ten minutes!!!!! Forget it! This place doesn't know how to run a business

    29/08/14 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    41. Melynda G.
    This place is disgusting.I do not normally like to talk negative or give bad reviews but this is a serious health code violation. They charged us 250$ per night and won't refund us the other night because it is to gross to stay in. Got in Santa Cruz last night, got our hotel and noticed all the blood stains and the dirtiness. Unfortunately we had to stay the night because it was already late. Woke this morning, told staff about how unclean the room is and that we do not want to stay another night. They won't give us our money and was rude! The box spring has been cut open and sewn shut and there looks like blood stains on the box spring. There are no fitted sheets on the old dirty box spring, and the sheet they put on top are greatly stained. The pillows have old blood stains on them. The mattress is old bumpy, shower dirty. The list goes on... on the phone with expedia and book it. They are basically holding us hostage! Do not come here!!!

    09/08/14 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    42. Betty R.
    A 2 star rating is not only fair but definitely true.  I've definitely experienced better.  

    I booked my hotel stay through expedia  and although I entered that I wanted a room with two beds and that I was traveling with 3 kids, they charged me for the room, WAY TOO MUCH for this place and didn't charge me for the kids. When I got to the hotel there was an extra 20 dollar charge per kid for 2 out of the 3 kids.  They proceeded to tell me that instead of booking through anyone to just call them next time and they would offer me a better deal.  OK but then if they wanted to still give me a deal they could have waived the kids fee.  They waived one ($20.) and charged $5. for early check in and another $50. deposit.

    TACKY, TACKY, TACKY that they had a price list for their towels in the bathroom. I'm sure people do it but WHY? Those were the crappiest towels ever and you could get better ones anywhere else for less.  Think about it Kleptos!

    The room was decent.  The bedding had holes all over the place, looked like cigarette burns.  The water pressure was horrible and you can forget about using their internet connection, horrible too.

    So they charged for everything, weren't the friendliest people on the planet and then I come back from the Boardwalk one night and there is NO parking but there is a utility truck taking up 6 spots!  I went to the office and they told me they don't keep track of cars so they can't tell that guest to move their truck.  They told me I could park on the street or the restaurant next door.  According to my calculations... those options suck especially when for a hotel like this (anywhere else considered a roach motel) charges over $100 dollars a night and extra for kids... they should at least guarantee parking.

    I left the room in great condition.

    Don't get me wrong, when I booked I knew I wasn't staying at a 5 star hotel but I wasn't expecting this either.  

    Would I stay here again??  THEY would have to pay me.

    13/08/13 | Link | Rating: 2.0
    43. Sharie S.
    To start off i wish i could rate it negative 1. Worst place ive ever stayed in... Super stinky as soon as you walked in the hallway, smells like smoke, the manager was a jerk. To top it off the room we stayed in looks like it had blood on the headboard wall. I felt like i was having a nightmare. I thought $50 was a good deal but you get what you paid for. Not worth it at all!!! So disgusting. NEVER stay here!!!! This should be shut down! The pillows was so dirty, the bed had so many hairs on it!

    24/09/14 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    44. Jim H.
    I booked a room for my daughter, a granddaughter and friend. I told them there might be a 4th person and was told that the rate was good for up to 4 people. When they went, there were actually 5 people. I didn't mind paying extra but Brook told my daughter that it was an additional $11 per person over 3.

    I had been told that they would not accept my credit card since I would not be there myself, and I would have to pay cash. When my daughter paid in cash they refused to give her any type of receipt. When I called and talked to Brook she hung up on me when I said nobody knows how to write a receipt today.

    Some in the room refused to even take a shower because the shower floor was so filthy.

    This is definitely not a place to be recommended.

    11/09/14 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    45. Tammy H.
    This was the worst motels I could have stayed at during my stay in Santa Cruz.  They charged my mom $200 for one night here- and although the room served it's purpose and gave us a place to stay for the night, plus shower- we feel completely gypped due to paying SO much for such a disappointing place.  It's pretty much run-down and super outdated everything. Which you could totally expect from a motel, BUT since we were paying so much, i thought it would offer much more.  

    Also, when we first arrived- my mom stepped on doggie poo right in front of our room and ruined her shoes.  Although I don't see it as their fault that people sneak in their pets, I do find it somewhat disconcerting that they did not offer to clean our walkway for us.  My mom did it herself (because she's an awesome mom like that and didn't want us stepping in it).  

    We don't want to come back here, plus- the bed and sheets made me itchy.

    30/07/14 | Link | Rating: 2.0
    46. Lisa G.
    Not sure what star rating this motel is but should be a 1-Star.  We paid $109 (AAA discount) plus taxes = $126 for a Saturday night.  What a total ripoff.  It was worth $50/nt or less.  

    The old school box TV has visible lines through the screen. The beds creaked with every move made.  I felt like it was comparable to my bed as a 3 yr old but worse. The laminate flooring is peeling. The bedspreads were plain nasty.  Could see dirt and age on them. The breakfast consisted of: Cereals - Frosted Flakes, Cinnamon Toast; White Bread, BUtter/Jelly,  Coffee, Milk, OJ.

    Jay, the front desk guy, was very pleasant.  That is the only thing good I can say.  Next time I will spend the extra money and do my homework on yelp.  The Oceana Inn site only shows 4/5 or 5/5 star ratings on their page.  Go figure.

    27/10/14 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    47. Carrie H.
    DONT SPEND ANY OF YOUR MONEY HERE. Management is a joke. The employees are very disrespectful and the rooms are filthy. My grandma came to stay and visit from out of town there was blood all over the inside of the toilet seat. What looked like dried vomit by the side of the bed. And instead of giving us a clean room they argued with us until we "had to leave" and robbed us of our deposit. I recommend the ocean gate inn down the street much cleaner, good people, and the price range is the same. Wish I could give negative stars I won't be surprised if this place gets shut down soon.

    06/02/15 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    48. Stefani E.
    This place is such a rip off and a total scam! I was charged $100 deposit and accused of smoking in the room when we don't even smoke! And of course they would wait until hours after we checked out and headed home to charge us so we couldn't even defend ourselves. Beware of this run down motel, scrape up the extra $20 for somewhere nicer.

    18/02/15 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    49. Where Not To Stay In The Bay ..
    Another one of Santa Cruz's Indian "Dot not feather" owned scaming  Bed bug nurserys. Super small room, hairy spiders & giant bed bugs everywhere. Walls are paper thin, Staff that is ruder than any DMV employee in america. Not too mention 4 days after my stay I got charged $100. I called them the so called manager is completely rude saying he thinks I smoked in the room hung up on me several times. Save yourself a nightmare book elsewhere.

    21/11/14 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    50. michele c.
    This has to be THE worst place i have ever had an experience with. My kids and i went to Santa Cruz for the day, and decided to stay for the night. I booked through Booking.com and when I arrived, they tried to change the amount I had originally booked it for. I decided to not stay at this motel, and the two men at the front counter became rude and disrespectful. They then charged my account, and being that it would be a hardship for me to fork out $208, and then find another place to stay, i thought i'd give it a shot.
    The pool was below zero, not at all like they advertise, and the room was rundown and disgusting. I packed up my kids and left. I spent another $208 to stay somewhere else, and now this crappy establishment is refusing to refund me my money, stating i was a "no show". I am just wondering how you can be rude and disrespectful and treat customers in such a manner, then deny giving them a refund??
    Your employees could use some customer service training. They do not even deserve the 1 star on this rating.

    17/03/15 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    51. Daniel R.
    Don't ever stay here for these reasons:
      Once you check in they hit you up for a deposit of $100 cause their stuff is so good, you may be tempted to steal or something.  On our 3rd stay here the same creepy owner noticed a 3rd person (my brother) smoking a cigarette outside the room and he quickly dialed up our room and forced us to pay the extra $15 "plus tax" (lol?) . We did. Like I said guy is creepy and so is his son that patrols the lot and will also get in your business. One last note, after 2 days of not requesting/desiring room service the loopy owner called us to tell us it's mandatory for room service. I figure the reason is he wants his maids to catch you with a smoke or pet animal in the room so he can pocket your $100 deposit. "Plus tax"
     Bottom Line: No

    15/04/15 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    52. Alanna P.

    This place will charge you a $100 deposit no matter what! They will claim you either smoked, or the room was dirty. We did neither! Looking at the other reviews, this is a common trick the manager pulls on all the guests! We booked through Priceline so we had no choice. We are working to report this CREEPY place for fraud. VERY sad way to manage a business, stealing from people!!


    26/04/15 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    53. Michael G.
    Me n my girlfriend stay here for one night! The hotel is kind rundown but it was good for the price we paid. The pillows were comfortable n clean! The thing that we didn't understand was there were two doors! But the outside door didn't open! We were pretty confused! There was free wifi but we need to put down 100 dollar deposit to check in. No pets are allowed! They said there was breakfast but I only saw cereal so me n my girlfriend went somewhere else.  We would come here again if it's the cheapest!

    Look of the inn: 3 stars
    Price: 4 stars
    Cleanliness: 3 stars
    Comfort: 3 stars

    18/01/15 | Link | Rating: 3.0