HomeFloridaMiami Beach, FL → Tradewinds Apartment + Hotel

Tradewinds Apartment + Hotel in Miami Beach, FL

Tradewinds Apartment + Hotel in Miami Beach, FL

This page contains the latest information about Tradewinds Apartment + Hotel in Miami Beach.

Below you can find the contact details and address, as well as read the reviews and comments about Tradewinds Apartment + Hotel in Miami Beach from other users.

For your convenience, below a list of other hotels in Miami Beach, FL.


Company Info:

Rating: 3.26

Address: 2365 Pinetree Dr, Miami Beach, FL, 33140

    Hotels in Miami Beach, FL



    Comments (27):

    1. Kelly H.
    My boyfriend and I got a great deal on our room. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The lack of parking does suck, though. The rooms are fully furnished, which is fantastic. They have great furniture, along with flat screens in the living room and bed room. They have everything you need to make simple meals, but they don't provide napkins or paper towels. But there is Walgreens nearby, and a gas station right around the corner, so you can easily pick up anything you might need (and get a little exercise with the walking too!). Unfortunately, the weather wasn't good, so we didn't get to do much. But we braved the rain when it was light and explored the outdoor "mall" on Lincoln Road. Definitely a great place to stay!!

    02/11/11 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    2. AMY G.
    We stayed here in September 2011 for 5 nights. Place is so scary. Police were there every night. Cleaning lady stole money out of my purse when she was attempting to clean room, but never did! I was horrifed. I would never recommend!! Spend a little more money and stay on the beach.

    25/11/11 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    3. Serena M.
    This is a GREAT place to stay!  It is a bit pricey, but you will not be dissatisfied with the accommodations, facilities, ore service.  I often feel that the service in tourist areas (like Miami Beach) fall short on service while still charging high rates.  As a military couple who are required to travel often, the Tradewinds offers SUPERIOR service.  I had many encounters with staff and always felt that they were especially helpful!  If I had to stay somewhere again in Miami Beach, I would absolutely come back to the Tradewinds!

    06/03/13 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    4. N A.
    We got this hotel on hotwire for about 70 bucks a night.  The rooms are big and pretty nice with a kitchen, but it definitely has a strange smell.  When coming back to our room, we found that the only thing housekeeping did was making our bed.  We were left no towels two days in a row which was really frustrating, given there are no phones to call the front desk.  Also, after getting into the room, someone unlocked our door and 2 hotel people just walked in and saw us, and asked us if we had seen a phone.  I thought it was a bit weird they just walk into your room for something like that.  It happened again the next day after we requested (for the 2nd time) that towels were brought to our room, they just unlocked the door and walked in with no towels, and then came back with them again.  What happened to knocking and giving you your privacy?  It made us really uncomfortable to know that at any time someone could unlock the door and walk in without knocking.  Let me add that both of these instances were in the evening.  

    So overall, it was an interesting stay. The room was pretty nice and there is a complimentary golf cart which takes you to the Catalina hotel which is a pretty central SoBe location.

    23/09/12 | Link | Rating: 3.0
    5. Katy M.
    We picked this hotel because my brother-in-law works at one of the sister hotels and we received a discount. The only negative thing I would have to say about this place is the parking is HORRIBLE! They have valet parking but they charged $30 a day. We were only there Saturday to Monday. There were two parking areas to the side of the hotel but it was a pain to unload all our stuff. We have a seventeen month old so we have to carry a lot. One of the parking areas charge $15 a day and they were full. There was a parking area beside it, which is where we parked, that you fed a meter. You were only allowed to pay up to 10 hours at a time.
    There is a Walgreens within walking distance. Collins Avenue and the beach are in walking distance also.  We loved the room. It was beautiful. There wasn't any coffee in the room but the front desk let us have some of theirs.  We bought some filters at Walgreens, along with some paper towels. We left the extra stuff in the room. We enjoyed our stay. We wished we could have seen more of Miami but you can't control the weather.

    12/10/11 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    6. Derek F.
    This place is absolutely gorgeous after the renovation and they have all the amenities of a huge hotel chain. Get In Touch with the social director Derek on the concierge services tab of the southbeachgroup.com website and he can help get you deals on any activity in the beach and Miami !!

    28/10/12 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    7. Jacqueline D.
    Overall I LOVE this place, however everything was not completely perfect. The WI FI is free but it blows. Don't even bother. Use your phone or go to the library if you need to.My room was amazing. The bed was so comfortable. I just melted right into it. The kitchen and living room were spectacular. However, the service sucks.One chick at the front desk had an attitude. Good thing I have sense to me otherwise I might have been looking at the walls of a Miami lock up.Housekeeping???WTF!!! Really. That's the biggest joke. They don't even clean!!! Why even bother having housekeepers who don't do anything?? Luckily, I speak Spanish so I could communicate with the housekeepers, which obviously didn't help, so if you speak only English or anything else, I guess you're shit out of luck. The location is great. You're in walking distance to everything. You;re close to the beach. Nice area to go for a  run. You can rent bikes for free. I wish they had a gym. I loved my apartment. I will visit again.

    30/08/13 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    8. Mr D.
    I stayed here for about five days when I was visiting South Beach for the first time. They have a shuttle bus that picks you up from the airport, it's a big black bus that is really depressing when you get inside...lol it's kind of smallish on the inside and has netting around the windows. They will also drive you back to the airport when you are leaving.  I took their white van which is a lot nicer though it seats fewer people. I spoke to the driver who said they are actually getting another bus. Now here's the thing...yeah I have negative attitude about the bus but you know what? A cab ride from that airport would probably run about 35 -50 dollars so it's great that they offer that in the first place they are saving you money. So while admittedly I wasn't too fond of the bus, I appreciate it greatly. The hotel is a couple of blocks away from the main hotel strips at south beach, away from the clubs and the partying. All in all, I thought the service was pretty good. I was alone so I had a room with a bed, flat screen tv on the wall, and a little desk and a chair. The room also had a full length mirror I could check myself out in before heading out . Everything is clean and neatly arranged. The room service changes the towels in the bathroom for you if you leave them in the bathtub when you head out for the day and the sheets on your bed as well, standard for most hotels and they do a good job.  I read a review where they said that the place was dirty but my room was super clean so I'm not saying the other review was untrue, but maybe they have changed since then. It also has wifi that is..ok it's not incredibly fast though.

    The kitchenette has a microwave, a refrigerator and one of those new electric stoves. There is also a table there that has two champagne glasses, two dishes, and some utensils...also in the cupboards there are spoons and forks, and some pots and pans to cook with. I thought this was great because I can cook and it saves me money on breakfast, who wants to spend a lot of money on breakfast? I don't think they served breakfast but I didn't ask.  There are only so many ways you can cook eggs and food in SOBE costs a lot, so you can save money. I had my oatmeal and I bought some egg whites at a Publix supermarket that was a couple blocks away. There is also a Boston Market there so if you don't want to spend too much on food, then you can get three pieces of chicken and some mashed potatoes and vegetables for about $8.00, which I did lol...but it's good to check out the local food as well, there was a restaurant called Havana 1957 that I went to that I liked. Anyway...back to the subject...the hotel has a little pool, which isn't bad but I didn't hang out there. I mean the pool is ok but it's a little small.  

    The tv in your room has all the channels you need, no adult channels but if you want to see some women in g-strings you just need to go to sobe and you'll be fine. I definitely recommend this hotel if you want  the basics. They have bikes you can rent if you want to move around without catching an expensive cab or walking. If you want to hang around south beach that's fine, but if you want to go to different areas of miami you will ABSOLUTELY need a car. I walked everywhere. The people there are cool but private and keep to themselves.  That's fine, who wants people all in your business anyway? The people at the front desk are great. When I first checked in Omar gave me a warm greeting and even told me some of the great spots to hang out at. The other two people that worked at the front desk that I saw, Susan and Paola, were also great to talk with and they always made you feel comfortable.  It's a good spot for getting away from the party scene of south beach and relaxing  while still being close by.

    26/10/13 | Link | Rating: 3.0
    9. Jess F.
    Tremendous value and location for the money. My room---or rather my apartment (it was that big)---was amazing and, pleasantly, just as pictured! The Tradewinds is located far enough from the Miami Beach douche-baggery, but close enough to walk to the beach, just two short blocks away. Room and front desk service were also excellent. My only compliant and why I couldn't give this place a 5 is that check in was actually at 4pm instead of 3pm as listed on my itinerary from Book-it.com . The hotel should communicate with their partner travel agencies to offer the most updated accurate details. It's an easy walk to Washington Ave., Lincoln Road and all the awesomeness south of 11th street. If the price point remains decent I will surely stay again.

    16/08/13 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    10. Ashley T.
    I really do love this apartment/hotel, the rooms are very spacious the staff are very friendly and overall staying at this place is GREAT!

    I am going to start off by saying that I do live here, my mother and I and we absolutely love it! The staff and I are so close, they are all so sweet and funny. Like everything this apartment does have some downsides: the parking is very frustrating and very limited, but you do have to remember THIS IS SOUTH BEACH!! The parking is never going to be very accessible.
    Also room service I have heard is not so good:( although me nor my mother have tried it we have heard many people complain about it. The cleaning people are very sweet though, although I don't know a lick of Spanish;)
    The rooms are also not equipped with telephones so you need to bring or buy a phone while down here. (Buy as in Walgreens around the corner: trackphones)  
    Also there is no room service as in food, beverages, ext. but this place is very close to many restraunts and places to access food. My mother and I do love ordering pizza or Chinese food every, so- often.

    They do have free bikes which is so great! Make sure you try taking them out on the promenade (across from the W)  you do have tobe there around 8 because they do go fast!

    The pool is very nice, cute hangout with many Lounge chairs also pool floats are accessible during the day.

    Pizza and any other food delivery is allowed:)

    Very close to  Lincoln road, Ocean Dr, and beach

    Staff are very friendly, comfy lobby/waiting room (I enjoy sitting in there on my laptop, phone, ext. because the WIFI IS BEST IN LOBBY!  

    Cute little sitting gardens in the location.

    Overall this place is very nice and up to par!

    17/04/14 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    11. Lily C.
    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this hotel! When we arrived at the room last March for WMC both of our mouths fell to the floor. We were so excited to find that we had booked a great room and at a great price. Compared to the other hotels closer to Ocean Ave this one is definitely worth it. The other hotels I saw in Miami were so tiny compared to the spacious and comfortable room at the Tradewinds Miami. I can't say enough good things about this place. The staff was very kind and accommodating. The room was amazing! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is on the fence about it.

    07/11/13 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    12. Nino R.
    Front desk staff is a little spacey but the rooms are pretty much amazing.  Seriously, at $65/night it's hard to find fault with anything.  It's really like having your own place two blocks away from the beach.  I paid for two nights in a one bedroom apartment.  

    The apartment came equipped with the following:

    Full bathroom
    Closet in bedroom
    Full Kitchen
    Dining table w/ 4 chairs
    2 flat screen televisions
    Tableware for 4
    1 large non-stick boiling pot
    1 medium non-stick pot
    1 non-stick sauce pan
    1 large frying pan
    Couch, coffee table, 2 chairs in living area
    IPod dock
    Wine opener, soup ladle, spatula,

    What you'll need:

    Chef's knife
    Cutting board
    Baking pan
    Can opener
    Paper towels
    Aluminum foil or plastic wrap

    If you plan on making meals here, then you'll need to buy the spices and condiments that go with it.  There's plenty of cabinet space, so don't think that you're overbuying.  There are 2 Publix supermarkets within a 1-mile radius of the complex, definitely not walking distance, but if you need a bike you can reserve one at the front desk.  Make sure you're there by 9am or you'll miss out.

    Parking is nearly nonexistent.  There is a parking lot for guests at $20/day, but there are only 20 spots and they are taken fast.  Street parking is mostly for residents, so you'll have to do some searching to find a spot.  Your best bet is to get dropped off at the hotel and rely on bikes for transportation.  The hotel does provide complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport (MIA) to alleviate the need of renting a car.

    There is a pool available to guests and towels can be found at the front desk.  The pool closes at 10pm, but if you're quiet you can extend your stay.  There are several cabanas in the pool area and they are available on a first come, first serve basis.  The water in the pool is a little murky so make sure to shower right away.  But there are plenty of chaise lounges and couches to stretch out and get your sun on.

    Take full advantage of the discount booklet you're given at check-in.  The best perk is free drinks at many of their sister hotels.

    Feels like home...

    23/09/12 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    13. Leslie H.
    You know the saying you get what you pay for...... Well I appreciated the space and the kitchen which is hard to come by at this price but I can say I was disappointed in a few things. I'm only 4'11 and a half and a female, I arrived late with huge heavy luggage.  There was no ramp to assist with bringing the luggage inside.  I had to ask several times how I was expected to get my luggage in and then finally I was offered help. Not to mention, no one offered to walk me down the street and around the corner to my room in the back in the dark past the dumpsters. Let's not forget the man that came out from behind the dumpsters or the mice that I saw every time I walked past it. The smell of the room left a lot to be desired, no phone and hair on the comforter upon arrival. The location is great and I can not complain about that. The free wifi sucks and so does the mattress and television reception.  I called to ask a few questions and the staff could not answer any question I had about the area and when I went in to check out i waited around looking for someone just to find him asleep in the corner.

    09/09/14 | Link | Rating: 2.0
    14. Karlee W.
    I LOVED this hotel!! I got the pool side room and it was great. Very spacious and feels like your very own place not just a hotel. My room was cleaned everyday and they even provide a couple silverware, plates and some cups. It was a very clean area. Staff was friendly. Its an easy walk to South Miami Beach! Close to a lot of shopping stores and other restaurants. Back to the room, it was super nice! My place is not even as nice as the hotel room i stayed in. I would definitely come back to this hotel/apartment!!
    Pro- If you arrived early they held your luggage for you till check in and they provide a free airport shuttle.
    Con- You could  not check in till 4pm

    16/05/14 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    15. Julián W.
    Geez! Where to start with this place. Well It was my brother's birthday and we decided to take a road trip to Miami, which will probably never happen again. Any-who, we booked a hotel a month in advance through Hotwire.com and it just happened to be this one.

    We got to Miami the night before our reservation, and tried to check in early but were blatantly turned away by the reception desk and told, "We don't take walk ins" although we had already made the reservation. The next day we checked in at 4:00 finally and the room was gorgeous located on the second floor by the pool, with a nice view of the south beach "W" building.

    Not soon after checking in we came to find out all the flaws of the hotel, which came one after the other until the very end. The hotel has "NOOO PARKING!!!" despite what anyone say's they'll tell you, "Sure we do it's 20.00 a day in some shady parking lot across the street or you can park for free in front." Mind you that the Hotel is located next to A high school, elementary school and church, so its NEAR IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND PARKING ON A NARROW STRIP ONLY ON ONE SIDE OF THE STREET!!!

    After we got over the parking dilemma and paid 20.00 to spend the day waiting for a free parking spot to open up in front, we decided to hit SoBe's Lincoln Road and Washington Ave on foot, of course sweating like pigs from walking everywhere.

    Finally after our stay we get ready to check out and "BAM" I'm slapped with some freaking BS reservation fee of 15.00 per day at the end of our stay totaling 85.00 as if the parking fiasco wasn't enough. Let alone room service didn't speak a drop of English and had I not spoke Spanish we'd have been stuck, even though they cleaned like crap anyways, and the room's had no phones to order anything. Nor did they even come with complementary coffee. Overall horrible experience and if you come with a CAR I DEFINITELY DO NOT RECOMMEND STAYING HERE!! unless you want to hunt for parking. Next time I'll just check into a Motel 8.

    27/09/13 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    16. Nathan L.
    Very beautiful property. There is a huge swimming pool and its right on a waterway which feels like Venice, Italy. It's like a group of villas in its own little tranquil community. The management is excellent the property is clean and well maintained. It's not on the strip but only a few blocks away close enough but with enough space to get away when you want to. Other than a swimming pool they have free bicycles but not much else in terms of amenities like a gym but its south beach and the weather is amazing so you can use the natural elements for exercise.

    08/11/13 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    17. Joseph O.
    Being from the Northern NJ/NY area, I've experienced some very high end hotels.  For the price I paid to stay here at the Tradewinds, this is definitely worth the visit.  Very clean, spacious, well-decorated apartments.  The service, the room, the pool, the location..everything worked out as I had hoped.  Only a few minutes from the action in South Beach, and a short walk to the beach, this is the place to stay.  Stayed for 5 days and felt I had covered everything there was to see in Miami.  Hotel also offers a free shuttle to neighboring hotels for free happy hours.  I would also recommend calling Central Cab (305-532-5555) for any transportation needs as they were located down the road and were also prompt (within minutes after calling).

    03/08/14 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    18. Rho L.
    I'm on the fence about Tradewinds.  The apartments themselves are a little outdated, or I suppose, to sound more hip, they're very retro, like a flashback from the 70's but they are spacious and clean.

    There is no centralized air, rather the living area and bedrooms have their own ac units. The kitchen is equipped with cookware so you can whip up your own semi-gourmet meals (aka cheaper than eating at the restaurants).

    The bathrooms appear clean, with very little pressure coming out of the shower heads and slow draining drains.

    Rooms are a bit small, but sufficient to sleep and do whatever you people do in bedrooms. wink wink.

    My one qualm (hence the dock of a star) is the unusual practices by some of the staff. Maybe we can attribute that to new/untrained employees, but either way, we had placed the Do NOT disturb sign on the door to prohibit any entrance by housekeeping during our absence. Unfortunately, upon returning, the room was entered and some of our personal belongings had been moved (long story). In any event, that's a hospitality no-no.  

    Overall, not a bad place to stay. a short walk to the beach, quick drive to shopping and restaurants, but mind you parking is really shitty everywhere.

    17/01/13 | Link | Rating: 3.0
    19. Matt F.
    It would seem Basil Fawlty moved to Miami Beach and opened a hotel called Tradewinds. Just one piece of advice - don't stay there! This place is a mis-managed tragic mess. Avoid at all costs!

    * WiFi barely usable, very slow.
    * Laundry unusable - no laundry cards at weekends.
    * Apt furnishing dangerous - High gloss slippery tile floors, heavy wall mirrors not anchored, cheap pressure mount shower curtain rail - If you have kids this place is basically an accident waiting to happen.
    * Entry gate not working correctly.
    * Guest parking on another block entirely.
    * Rude and uneducated front desk staff, barely able to speak english.
    * Bed pillows smell like sweat.

    29/12/13 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    20. Chris N.
    - beautiful, spacious room with plenty of amenities such as AC, cable, dining table, and full kitchen
    - hotel/apartment complex itself was clean, safe, and well kept
    - within walking distance to the beaches and South Beach

    - cockroaches under the kitchen sink
    - shower temperature fluctuates between scalding hot and chilly sporadically (would be a very bad idea to bathe a child without a lot of caution)
    - *biggest drawback*   I purchased the flight/hotel package via priceline and was not given ANY warning that I would be billed an extra $15 per night. Having stayed there for a week, I had no choice but to pay $101 after taxes.

    Overall, the hotel was a great place to stay as an adult looking to visit Miami. I wouldn't advise people with children to stay there due to the shower temperatures fluctuating extremely bad. Most importantly, if you are to stay here and purchase the room through a third party site, you may want to check to see if you might get forced to pay additional fees beforehand or loose $100 like I did.

    31/05/14 | Link | Rating: 3.0
    21. Kimberly M.
    After checking out of The Tradewinds AND receiving an erroneous 'owner feedback' to my first review, I felt an update was in order. Well, it's still a 2. In fact, had the 'owner' Katrine treated the customer, AT ALL, unlike a liar, then it's possible that my review would have earned a 1/2 star more? Likely. Not. Oh yeah. We can't impose a 1/2 star and it's by far, nowhere a 3.
    ON the last day of our stay at The Tradewinds, we think we may have received a visit from maintenance? After checking DAILY of our 4 night stay with the front desk staff to see that maintenance would come and check the scalding to cold to scalding water in the shower that we complained about on DAY 1, we were told that they would, IN FACT, come on the last day between 11am and 2pm. Seriously, this water thing was the worst part of the stay. Oh wait. THE staff and the attitude of not caring was the worst part of the stay. When the staff was told that I was burned by the water in the shower, NOTHING was done. An apology. I was not burnt of leaving a blister, (my first review does not indicate that), I was burnt to the point of leaving red on my skin. ALL we asked was for it to be looked at and corrected. It's not that difficult and when its dangerous, say to a small child or older person, it should be looked at immediately. Katrines message to my first review states, " We never received a complaint about any guest burning their chest from taking a shower. We would have definitely looked into that immediately and called an ambulance or a doctor". Well, here is the first untruth. The staff DID not look into it and please don't insult me with the 'ambulance' comment. Had I needed an ambulance or a doctor, your staff would have known that. I happened to have majored in nursing and I know a serious burn from one that just needs a moment. Your water heater or boiler is broken and your staff was aware, as one of them tried to explain to my boyfriend on NIGHT 1 how it works and HOW you have received complaints such as this before. The end.
    Nextly, the 'missing package'. The package was delivered on Friday via Fed Ex to the hotel's front desk. It was signed for by an employee who I won't name here. We asked on Saturday upon check in if a package had been delivered. They looked in your log book on Saturday, on Sunday and it was finally found on Monday. Yes. It was delivered. It was not logged in and it was not found for the meeting it was needed for by your staff. Is it possible there is little or no management at this hotel? Seems like a breakdown in communication. It was a very stressful situation to not have marketing tools that were costly to send and not found due to incompetence of front desk staff.
    So, with that, the package was NOT delivered the first day it was received, it was delivered day 3 after your hotel took possession of it. That would be the second erroneous reply.
    Upon checkout, my boyfriend called the front desk staff from his cell phone. Something I did not mention in my first review: there are NO phones in this hotel. That is a safety issue. Every time you have a problem or need a request, you must walk to the front desk and hope for no line. Well, as you can see from my first review, the 'owner' reply and now this, there is a lot of walking back and forth when there are any issues! We were told we could have 15 extra minutes to vacate the room but no late check out was available that day. That was okay. We only needed a few more minutes to finish business via phone and load our car to head to our nicer hotel on the beach. That would be another erroneous reply in the 'owner' message to my review. It is quite possible by the time my boyfriend took the 'manager' to our room to PROVE the hot water issue, (as when he went to settle charges on his check out, the water was still in question. The funny thing was this 'manager' went back and forth about HOW it had been fixed and our complaint was relayed as having NO hot water. Pay attention. This is not rocket science. It should not take all these repeated requests to fix such a problem, or how about just reaccommodating your patrons?), which was finally believed upon showing the 'manager' how the water went from hot to cold to hot hot. Back to the check in they went and after all that, our parking and resort fees were credited back. NOTHING ELSE. We did not receive one night free. Had the hotel wanted to charge us for a late check out, that should have been stated. We would have paid for that 15 minutes. No mention in said reply to the parking fees being refunded, so I said it here in this updated review.
    Again, great hotel for space and nice furnishings. Do not expect customer service here that is on par with other hotels. As you can see by my review and her response to my review and others on this same hotel to other guests, THIS is a place where the staff is all correct and the customer is always wrong!
    It was nice to check out of this place and go where it was nicer!

    20/05/14 | Link | Rating: 2.0
    22. Klara S.
    Pros: the price (I got it through hotwire) of $100 a night for a one bedroom, two bed apartment cannot be beat in this area.
    A kitchen in pricey South Beach really cuts down on costs - and it is a nice kitchen! We cooked and ate in two nights.
    The rooms are clean and comfortable.
    Support staff (cleaning service, bell hops, etc) are really, really nice. Yuan at the front desk is also nice and helpful.

    Cons: How can you have a kitchen without one sharp knife and a cutting board? Nino R's review has a good list of things the hotel provides and things you need to bring.
    Some of the front desk staff are not particularly helpful. I have read other reviews complaining about a lack of English - I did not experience that.
    There are no phones in the room, which is a pain when you want to call the front desk. You always have to call the main line and I have often been put on hold and forgotten about, and once had to leave a message. If you are from another country and don't have a cell phone, it would really be a pain because you'd have to go in person every time you needed anything.
    Lastly, we woke up one morning to a man doing work outside our window which was kind of a shock since no one told us about it.

    Other notes that I think might be helpful for people:
    Parking is $20 a day - we ended up not renting a car because the price for the rental plus the parking was not worth it when you can take an Uber.
    There is a $15/day resort fee. I can't remember if I knew that before I booked, but I did know that before I came. For those that do not carefully read the fine print on bookings, I can see how it would be an unpleasant shock.

    Overall, I'd come back, and if they fixed the phone and customer service issues, it would be a 4-star.

    30/06/14 | Link | Rating: 3.0
    23. Dee Dee L.
    Updated review . A representative from the hotel as you can see from their above response made a feeble attempt to try to place blame on myself for their widely documented by other guest pest problem. For your and anyone who reads this information, I did not leave any windows or doors open for roaches and ants to enter the apt . Nor was any food left out .They were coming from your base boards , bathroom etc.
    Won't stay here or recommend this place. How dare you try to blame a guest for your short comings even after you were given the benefit of the doubt.

    02/01/15 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    24. Jeff L.
    Worst hotel experience of my life. We showed up and there was no parking at all. Not only that... but they didn't just tell us right up front that there was no parking; they sent us on a wild goose chase to various different lots at 1 AM, none of which were available. This was after an international flight so we were very exhausted.

    If you can't provide a place for me to park my car, then I can't stay at your hotel. So we left that same night and stayed someplace else. They wouldn't refund my money despite the fact that we didn't spend a single night there. They wouldn't even refund their expensive resort fee.

    I was never able to speak to the manager regarding a refund. They wouldn't ever put my call through to the manager and the manager never called me back.

    20/05/15 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    25. Shawn T.
    This hotel blew me away.  I saw some poor reviews and headed in with caution.  I got there and was surprised . . . in a good way.

    The rooms were almost triple the size of a regular hotel room, the place was clean and cool in the Miami heat.  The grounds were tropical and well kept and the staff was friendly.

    The furnishings were modern glass and leather and the kitchen was dark wood with stainless appliances and black granite tops.  Just beautiful.  The bedroom is large and clean with a wall mounted plasma maybe about 40inches and a larger one in the living room. The pool and cabanas were beautiful and the location was prime.

    Also the happy hour (free drinks from 7-8 at their sister hotels) was amazing.  Live music, live art and a great crowd.  

    The kitchen comes decked out with forks, knives, plates, ice cube tray, coffee maker(but bring your own coffee!) And more!

    My only complaint would be the water pressure is abysmal but I could hardly complain when the rooms compare and exceed expectations and the norms for any hotel in its class.

    In the end I HIGHLY recommend this hotel.  Everything is on point and its located near some of the hottest bars, clubs and galleries.  

    Don't listen to these negative nancies who give it a bad rating just because they can't read their booking and see that there is a resort fee to be paid upon arrival(something like 15bucks per day.) Which pays for stuff like 24hour security patrols and general cleanliness.

    Also parking is rough.  I'm a pro downtown parker so I got a wicked spot right away but I had to use all my parking skills lol

    Anyways, try it out if you got a chance and you won't be disappointed.   :D

    31/01/15 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    26. Sophia P.
    Pros: 3 blocks from Collins avenue. 5 -10 mins walk from the "action". Apartment style so full amenities with kitchen and utensils. Reasonably priced though after I paid for the room on Priceline, there was still a "hotel fee" (about 20 bucks per day for Internet , etc.  hence "free Wifi").  Happy hour at the Catalina but drink options limited.

    Cons: poorly staffed and they take forever to answer the phone. I was on hold for 10 minutes once. I checked in at 10 pm and was given directions as to the section that I should go to find my room.  I didn't realize that it was on the second floor and the room numbers are difficult to see at night. So, basically, in the dark, I'm wandering around looking for my room.  It would've been nice to have been given that additional information, especially as a single female traveling alone.  Perhaps it was the gentleman who attended to me because as I was parking, I saw another guest (with luggage) being escorted by the second front desk personnel into one of the row of apartments. The wait is also very long when you need assistance in person at the front desk.

    Not sure if I will stay here again.

    22/03/15 | Link | Rating: 2.0
    27. DaVida C.
    A group of friends and I stayed here last weekend for a girls trip. It's a great location - was five minutes to the beach and centrally located so uber and taxis weren't too expensive. We had two rooms-one was poolside. I think that one was more recently renovated bc it had newer furniture. The TV played clearly. The second room was not as new-sofa was not in good shape and the TV was fuzzy. Good news is I wasn't in Miami to watch tv so it worked out! Staff was great-front desk provides towels for the beach and every time I requested some it was a pleasant exchange. The rooms had kitchenettes. I did see a few bugs but it is the humid South so hard to point the blame there. The outside sitting areas and look area were super cute. One suggestion Centinela candles in the courtyard to help combat the mosquitos!

    All in all it was a cool stay and definitely great when balling on a budget!

    01/05/15 | Link | Rating: 4.0