HomeWashingtonSeattle, WA → Inn at El Gaucho

Inn at El Gaucho in Seattle, WA

Inn at El Gaucho in Seattle, WA


Seattle's Luxury Urban Inn.
Step back in time, to an era of uncompromising service and total indulgence. With its "retro-swank" fifties décor, the Inn at El Gaucho will give you the kind of responsive attention and personal pampering that only a 17-suite, exclusive Inn can provide.

Located in Seattle's ultra-hip Belltown district, the Inn is minutes away from landmarks such as the Pike Place Market and the Space Needle. Whether you're a visitor to the city or a local spending a night on the town, the Inn at El Gaucho will serve up a memorable stay you'll cherish forever.

Complimentary Services:
   In-room coffee and tea
   Fresh baked cookie upon arrival
   24-hour concierge service at the front desk
   WiFi and High-Speed internet
   Complimentary nationwide long distance
      and facsimile services
Exclusive Services:
   24-hour concierge service at the front desk
   Valet parking
   In-room dining service provided by El Gaucho Seattle


Company Info:

Rating: 3.88

Address: 2505 1st Ave, Seattle, WA, 98121

    Hotels in Seattle, WA



    Comments (48):

    1. Dana E.
    My fiancee and I stayed here over the weekend and were appalled at the way we were treated at this place.  First of all, if you are not a white, older business man, don't even think about staying at this place.  While the rooms and amenities were nice, the staff treated us horribly to where we actually checked out early.  They overcharged our credit card by 1000 dollars, and even when they admitted their mistake, they refused to correct it leaving us in a rough spot.  I would have to say that this is one of the worst places I have ever stayed.  If you want to be treated well, and have a good time on your vacation, I would definitely not stay at this place!!!! It almost ruined our whole vacation!!!  I cringe that I even have to give this hotel one star, but it won't let me post the comment unless I do. :(

    06/08/07 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    2. Lyn G.
    Small little hotel - I think there are less than 20 rooms here -over the restaurant of the same name. The price for our sound-view (really a blocked view of puget sound) was less than $200 a night. It's not a budget hotel, but a really cozy boutique type hotel. Staff was extremely helpful and warm. The location is not bad, it's a short walk to pike's place.

    13/03/07 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    3. Dave R.
    I will say, I have stayed at a few hotels in my time ( about 2,000 ) and this one is for sure a new "trip" in time...lol.. It was a cool little boutique place. If you have ever stayed in a downtown hotel, you will know that most rooms are smaller and have a little different layout, We choose this cause it was right above El Gaucho and we wanted to have Bananas Foster, and found it was $100 a night. That was a win win. The problem, the restaurant was closed.... BUMMER! It was really weird to ring a door bell, and then a lady opened the door about 2 minutes later? No one out front? We went upstairs ( i assume they have a elevator somewhere) and the place is instant class. Quiet piano music playing, nice warm feeling, and very nice place. We stayed in room 18, and I think they only have 18 rooms. Our room was open, large, and very cozy. The bathroom was for sure vintage, but was very clean and the shower was good. We did not see our hear anyone except the front desk ladies (Both of them were very nice and friendly). This is the kind of place that you could stay for a week or two and be happy. We did not use the vallet ( not sure if they had one that night) because there was parking right in front on the street for free. I used to always stay at the Fairmont, but this is a much better place. I will be back!

    19/01/11 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    4. Arela R.
    We stayed at this hotel for two nights. When we arrived we had to lug out bags up the long flight of stairs but that was the only problem we had with this hotel. The front desk was warm and friendly and they let us check in very early.

    The rooms were great, we didn't have a view, but it was really clean and  comfortable. They have a great feel, more like a real house than a hotel. The room and bathroom was sparkling clean with great toiletries.

    The best part was the neighborhood was fantastic. Just fun, full of great bars and restaurants and a really short walk to the "free ride" bus stop.

    I loved this place and will stay here every time I'm in Seattle.

    03/06/07 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    5. Katie C.
    We've now stayed at several boutique hotels in the Belltown area and The Inn at El Gaucho is by far the standout of the bunch.  Rooms are well-equipped for the price (we even got a room upgrade as it was the Monday of Memorial Day Weekend and fairly empty).

    The decor is a step up from your usual sleek and staid contemporary.  The walls are painted a warm amber and our suite had a comfortable leather couch and chairs in the living room.

    Nice extra touches include a "gift bag" upon arrival with water bottle and homemade chocolate chip cookie, as well as L'Occitane soaps, etc.

    The location on 1st Ave is fantastic, and within a few blocks of many bistros, bars and coffee shops.

    We'll definitely be back.

    30/05/07 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    6. Maya H.
    The Inn at El Gaucho is very nice. The service was outstanding and  all the employees seemed happy to be there. The room was nicer than I thought it would be though I'm not sure why. Yes the colours are very orange but not in a bad way. I loved the room. It was spacious, attractive and clean. The bed was not extremely comfortable for me  but not too bad either. In the morning they offer coffee and tea starting at 5:30am and it is nicely presented with take out cups if you want. There is also coffee and tea in the room if you want to make it yourself.

    05/03/12 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    7. S H.
    The room looked great initially but a few issues came up during our one night stay. The room was visually clean and tidy but little things kept coming up. The A/C didn't keep the room cool (set at a lowest setting of 59) so I checked the filters and discovered they hadn't been cleaned in a long time. Once I cleaned the thick mat of dust, it worked great. Fan remote didn't work. The tub would back up over your ankles while taking a shower due to the hair etc. plugging the drain from previous occupants, and the shower head not only showered you but your clothes and floor outside of the shower stall due to a leaky connection that sprayed over the top of the shower curtain rod. I didn't want to waste my anniversary getaway complaining to the front desk so I left my complaints on the suggestion card in the room along with contact info. Never heard from anyone. Oh, and I hope you like the smell of popcorn because there is a theatre at the shared entrance of the hotel. My wife and I dont mind the smell but I know some people cant stand it.

    01/10/12 | Link | Rating: 2.0
    8. Rita R.
    We arrived at The Inn at El Gaucho late on a Thursday night. Even at midnight there was someone there to bring all of our luggage up (we had a LOT, as we were moving here from Hawaii), we didn't have to touch it once between the taxi and our room. The service was exceptional, the staff was very friendly. Since it was our first night ever in Seattle we had a lot of questions, and whatever couldn't be answered immediately was always researched for us.

    The beds are very comfy, and the temperature in the room is quite easy to control and maintain. Very clean bathrooms, a nice gift bag and L'Occitane soaps and lotions made for a very pleasant experience. One of my favorite parts was having a very good steak dinner served in my room. (There are few things better than a great meal in bed, as far as I'm concerned!)

    I would definitely go back!

    10/02/08 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    9. Meredith G.
    I booked a room as a crash pad for my husband's surprise 40ith birthday party. The room had some old school character with some classy touches. (I am a sucker for quality sheets) The staff was awesome. They looked after our bags for us after we checked out, while we walked down to the Market for breakfast and shopping. Make sure you ask about getting a quiet room if you are a light sleeper. Great location for getting a night out in Belltown.

    30/05/11 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    10. BGrace G.
    Charming themed rooms (stayed in the 'Breakfast at Tiffany's' Audrey Hepburn room), small rooms and oldish, but a wonderful location right downtown (north end of), and above the restaurant.

    I was taken here for a sentimental reason by a then boyfriend and it was quite memorable, after a wonderful dinner in the restaurant below.

    22/12/08 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    11. Michael S.
    Outstanding service. Top-notch in every facet. Atmosphere is very nice, piano bar and the table-side touch is pleasing. Knowledge of both the wines and steaks are without question. Service was so good, I never had to refill the wife's or my wine glass. Highly recommend dining here. It'll cost a little more, but for a melt in your mouth steak coupled with 5 star service, you can't go wrong.

    25/10/11 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    12. Michael B.
    We ate dinner here (fabulous - see separate review) and noted the beautifully elegant crafted wood bar on the other side of the restaurant (also see separate review).
    During dinner we had our waiter ask over the Hotel Manager and were able to get him to admit he had rooms still available. He hooked us up with an awesome spot for under half price. The staff were all incredibly friendly outgoing and helpful in that special Seattle way you see in the coolest interactive crowd (contrasted to the gray down and out could care less if the world ends group).
    So absolutely accommodating it was astounding. I love these people.

    27/09/09 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    13. J R.
    I give it 4 starts because of the pillows.  Too thick and too rigid! Otherwise The room was large, the location  of the place is wonderful . A great place if you want to enjoy a nice dinner wih drinks and not worry about getting a cab. The rooms comfortable, extra clean. Service is excellent. Valet parking for  your car. No hassle ! Would like to return it they changed the pillows :)

    06/01/13 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    14. Sarah H.
    The rooms are decent and cozy. No microwave or refrigerator in the rooms but there is one near the lobby you can use.

    20/04/13 | Link | Rating: 3.0
    15. They Call Me L.
    If only we hadn't been relegated to room 1, next to the lobby and stairwell and the walls weren't paper thin...then we wouldn't have been able to hear all the comings and goings of patrons and the goings-on and phone-ringing at the front desk.  I could deal with the noise from the traffic out on 1st Avenue, but all the other stuff was annoyance.  The room itself wasn't too bad, for the price we paid.  

    Had an apple tart a la mode ordered in and was reminded why I hardly ever choose the room service option: grand total of $19.80 with convenience charge, tax and tip.  Yowzah!  It was good, but not almost $20 good.  Oh well.

    25/01/10 | Link | Rating: 3.0
    16. Stacey P.
    My boyfriend took me here for my birthday a couple years ago. It is one of the most charming little inns I have ever stayed at. The front desk attendant was polite and elegant. The room was beautiful, well decorated, and marvelous. I never heard any other guests the time we were there, except when we were checking out, so I can't tell you if we just had a good room or if the guests were just being super quiet. It was a fantastic evening.

    02/10/10 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    17. Mike K.
    If I were not in town on business, I probably would not have stayed here because of the price.  But now that I have experienced the Inn at El Gaucho, I'm leaning towards thinking it's worth the price.  

    Lots of nice touches like a nice robe (way nicer than the thin white guest robes you get at most places), a free gift bag that includes a bottle of water, a big chocolate chip cookie and a music CD, and service (not free) from the El Gaucho restaurant.

    For a guy like me who's used to traveling on the cheap, the room was amazing.  Leather couch and recliner.  Bose Wave radio.  Ceiling fan.  Nice TV but I didn't watch it because I was too geeked about the radio.

    A great experience and highly relaxing, which was what I needed on this business trip.  Someday I will stay for pleasure.

    20/10/10 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    18. Michelle H.
    Beautiful and had a nice stay.

    17/10/12 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    19. Jacquie P.
    Hubby and I stayed here for our anniversary. We purchased the dinner and a movie package which includes one night at the Inn, two tickets the The Big Picture, and a $75 credit towards dinner. Now, you MUST expect to spend more than $75 at dinner so it won't cover everything, but it sure helped!

    We loved the room. The bed and pillows were so soft we just sunk right in, and didn't want to get out! For the work travelers out there, they had converted a closet into a little office nook with desk and chair, computer outlets and a little coffee station. Super cute. Overall, the room was very contemporary and intimate. The only downside was the teeny tiny bathroom - but they did have L'occitane bath products!

    The service was a little slow. When we checked in they didn't have our movie tickets ready, and we weren't exactly sure how we were going to tell the restaurant that we had a credit. We were expecting a gift certificate of some sort, but the front desk told us that our server would "just know." Then, of course, our server didn't "just know" so they had to call up to the hotel and make sure that we weren't scamming them.

    The package could have been handled a little more smoothly, but overall we had a fabulous night and I would definitely recommend the Inn for a fun night away, or if you're traveling in the Seattle area.

    26/09/11 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    20. Akio S.
    Nice friendly hotel. Latin themed atmosphere. The people were very nice and hospitable and the room came with fresh baked cookies ;) Only a couple small issues keeping it from a 4 star...

    The TV only showed blue, green, and brown colors. The fan remote didn't work. Lastly, the room smelled like crab in the morning from the restaurant downstairs. If I had a hang over that could have been ugly....

    I may stay here again and see if that smell happens every morning. If not, it's a pretty cool place.

    07/02/12 | Link | Rating: 3.0
    21. Henry S.
    I wanted to let everyone know that our 10th Anniversary dinner and stay that was set-up by David (and Sharon) of the Inn at El Gaucho was PERFECT!

    During the weeks/days prior, David worked with me to get everything planned on the down-low as I had to sneak off multiple times to work through all of the specifics without my wife knowing....she could tell that I had something going on!

    Our arrival went off without a hitch with Sharon's help....she made sure that my wife did not know that I had the trunk full of overnight bags by giving her valet guys the heads-up that I was on my way. She directed them to wait until we were in the restaurant and seated before they removed our bags from the trunk.

    (These kind guys also were careful to not crush my surprise dessert for after-dinner (hot cakes and hot fudge from Hot Cakes in Ballard), and Sharon heated the same up perfectly so that all were at a temp and consistency as you would find them in Ballard!)

    Dinner was an awesome event as Mach (I hope I have his name spelled correctly?) took the lead from minute one and, as he was already made aware that this was our 10th Anniversary dinner, made it so enjoyable not only for us, but a great experience for my in-laws, and especially my kids! They joined us for dinner and not only got to assist with the making of our Caesar salads, but Cooper (who we later found out is the GM of the whole place!) stepped in to make us a delicious Bananas Foster dessert that turned out to also be a great show for my kids (and yes, we had TWO desserts that night!)!

    The room at the Inn topped of the surprise as the staff riddled the bed with rose petals and a bottle of champagne....and, as you all know, the location is in the heart of it all, so we were able to take a run out later on in the evening to paint the town a bit before we got back to one of the most comfortable beds ever!

    Thanks to the entire El Gaucho staff for helping to get everything to work out without a hitch....even though there were so many components that could have gone south!

    I/We will let everyone know of their customer service-beyond-compare and we are looking for ANY reason to dine and stay with them all again soon!

    Happy New Year!!

    28/01/13 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    22. Jamie D.
    I stayed here with a girlfriend for one night during a Mariner's game.  I loved this place!  The room was awesome with a very nice bed, full couch, and bose surround sound system!  Very cute, and the bathroom was clean and nice!  The location was perfect, close to shops, restaurants, bars, and Safeco field.  The staff was very friendly as well!  Gave us an earlier check-in time.  I would definitely stay here again!  Scored a deal on Priceline for 90$ a night!

    29/05/13 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    23. Ronny K.
    The best walking location to everything you could ask for with a 12 year old on vacation in Seattle! Nice, clean rooms, comfortable bedding, cool and funky vibe.  Did not have a hard time finding it, and felt safe walking home late at night from a movie or dinner.
     We normally stay at Hyatts, but wanted to stay somewhere closer to the water and a bit smaller, and really liked it. Definately recommending friends to go and check it out!

    08/10/12 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    24. Ian M.
    We've stayed here twice and I love it. Great location in hip Belltown and an easy walk downtown to Pike Place etc.  Friendly staff, fair rates, free wifi, spacious rooms - its all good!

    Oh - and the lowest priced parking of any downtown hotel in Seattle!

    04/11/12 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    25. Erica B.
    We stayed here on St. Patrick's Day, and loved it. Very friendly staff, great rooms for the price, and great location. Plus, who doesn't love a handwritten welcome note and chocolate chip cookies?!

    31/03/14 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    26. Jamie P.
    Location is fantastic, walking distance to good restaurants, the Space Needle, Key Arena, EMP, Pike Place Market, etc. and very easy to find.  

    Funky retro feel - sort of a 50s-movie-star theme, somewhat enhanced by the smell of popcorn in the lobby... The rooms are located on the second floor above the steakhouse, so I agree they would not be good for physically-challenged guests.  We stayed in room #1, right off the lobby; it was spacious and comfortable, with a queen bed, leather sofa and leather chair.  I hear it's queen beds only... kind of a bummer, but the bed was very comfortable (not too hard, not too soft).  Linens generally were exceptional:  down duvet, soft sheets, really fluffy towels, and soft, thick bathrobes.  Room faced onto First Ave, which is fairly noisy; this doesn't really bother me, but if you want silence, you're not going to find it.  

    Shower only; water was hot and pressure was great.  Shampoo/conditioner/body wash in dispensers (love that; always hate wasting the little bottles but really like using the nice products).  Bathroom was small but well-appointed (shelves in the right places, hair dryers, hooks for towels, etc.).  Everything was clean, fresh, well-maintained, smelled good, etc.

    Coffee in lobby in the morning until 11 a.m.; no breakfast service available (but see my other review for Tilikum Place Cafe, right around the corner on Cedar).  Room service from El Gaucho downstairs; did not use.  Gave us fresh-baked cookies when we came in; vending machines near ice machine had Perrier (sometimes I'm a snob -- hey, I just like fizzy water)!!

    Internet is free (yay). DNK about parking, did not use.  

    Front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating; showed us to our room initially, and was happy to agree to a late check-out (12 p.m.).  Lobby is charming, with the same dark leather sofas and big fireplace - real 50s-supper-club feel.

    No other "hotel" amenities (gym, pool, etc.).

    Got a great deal on this place through Hotwire (I think?) as one of those "take what they give you for the price in the location" kind of deals and it was very worth it.  Not confident it would be worth the pretty steep rack rates.  Overall it was definitely a great place to spend a night relaxing in the City (we came up from Portland to see a show and just have a day off).

    14/11/12 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    27. C M.
    Comfy, Cozy & Inviting! Great Couples Getaway!

    Great downtown location! Comfy! Cozy! Warm! Inviting! Free WiFi!

    Perfect downtown location. Walking distance to Space Needle, Pike Market Place, Shopping areas & lots of great restaurants and cafe's.

    I first must say that the pictures shown on Expedia are exactly what you see in person, very comfy, warm, cozy & inviting! The Inn at El Gaucho is located in downtown, walking distance from Space Needle & Pike Market Place. Perfect location!

    My husband & I took the Central Link Light Rail from SeaTac airport and got off on the Westlake station. We walked a few blocks (about 20 min. walk) to the Inn at El Gaucho located on Wall and 1st. We did have to take our luggage up the stairs to the 2nd floor to check in. The first floor is the El Gaucho restaurant and the Big Picture Movie theatre. At check-in, the staff was welcoming & willing to help roll our luggage into our room. They have a very nice common area which has a fire place and magazines & in the morning free coffee and tea set up & in the afternoon fresh fruit & flavored water available in this common area.

    Our Jr. Suite was so wonderful. My husband and I fell in love with the decor and comfy, cozy feeling of the room. We were welcomed with fresh baked chocolate chip cookies & a personalized welcoming card. The room had the most comfy bed, 2 night stands, couch, chair, flat screen TV, desk, closet with ironing board/iron & bathroom with shower. The bathroom provided a blow dryer & shampoo/conditioner/body wash. Our view was facing outside on Wall Street & on the corner was a convenient liquor store. The Inn also provided free WiFi which was a plus!

    We would come back again! We enjoyed every minute of our stay!

    03/01/13 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    28. Randi C.
    WONDERFUL! I will stay here next trip to Seattle. Everyone was so nice and the room was perfect. The location was perfect for me also.  I have to mention Merica, who was so helpful and kind to us all during our stay! Exceptional!
    The staff are friendly and helpful. I like the size of the place, it is small and cozy.  I had no problem with the fact that there is no elevator and it is on the 2nd floor. The staff will help you with your luggage if you need it.
    My Jr. Suite room was wonderful. There were fresh baked cookies and a welcome card in my room when I arrived.
    I have nothing bad to say about the Inn and would tell my friends to book this place any time they are in the area.

    01/01/14 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    29. Calah Y.
    Cozy with nice touches.

    I have to admit that it was hard to find and we had to call for directions. The Inn sits on top of El Gaucho restaurant and the door for the Inn is to the right of the restaurant. We used the valet parking which was convenient. As we toted our luggage up some dirty looking stairs, I rolled my eyes at my husband wondering what kind of a hole he had brought us to (he had always chosen nicely in the past). However, when we reached the top of the stairs, it opened up into a nice lobby with a table full of Keurig teas and coffees and my faith in my husbands trip planning was restored. The service was exceptional.

    There were very few rooms. Maybe 10-13? The ameneties were older, but there were nice touches throughout. You could tell the shower was a bit older, but the soaps were nice. There was a desk inside the closet with another Keurig and teas/coffee. The bed was cozy with lots of plush pillows.

    The wifi was free, but it went down twice while we were there.

    17/05/13 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    30. Don B.
    I had no idea the Inn at El Gaucho even existed. This tiny little boutique property hides, well, as you probably guessed, above El Gaucho steakhouse down in Belltown. I found this bad boy on Yelp and scored one heck of a rate ($152+tax/night - Expedia) for a Monday off-season stay, and at the price, the amenities can't be beat.

    The entrance to this hotel is hard to find. Just seek out the small door to the right of the El Gaucho entrance that says "Inn" and roll on up the stairs (yeah, there's no sign directing you up there) where you'll find the lobby on the second floor. The building has a square layout with the lobby occupying the NE corner. An area of leather couches and fireplace offer a nice space to lounge... if you like to lounge in hotel lobbies.

    The small size of this inn makes for a nice, easy, personal check-in experience. They were sold out on the night I arrived but it took only a moment to find me in the system. I was even escorted down to my room by the front desk person. And to those wondering, no, I didn't book on any Yelp rate or even use my Yelp credentials or email address when booking.

    The room itself was a "Sound View Junior Suite" but really to me it's a straightforward room. There was a partial sound view out one of my windows. The room is decently roomy, with a super plush queen bed, a leather love seat and chair with ottoman, desk, Bose Wave sound, flatscreen, closet and bathroom. The bathroom is a little on the small side, and offers a shower (no bathtub) but is plenty ample, especially when staying solo. All of the amenities are nice and clean, and they even leave you some fresh baked cookies and a hand-written welcome card. The decor is earthy and brown/orange, with leather and fits right in with the El Gaucho style.

    The room was quiet enough, the bed comfy, and all of the interactions I had very nice. This is the kind of experience I prefer when in a hotel. While it's not as young and hip as the Ace (across the street) I wouldn't hesitate to stay here on future visits.

    For those that need parking, they offer valet for $25/night. Wifi is free (as it ALWAYS should be). Props for that.

    22/05/12 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    31. Shawnee N.
    Wow, what a beautiful gem in the grunge/tech capital of the world, Seattle. It's a small boutique hotel, with 17 rooms the size of a studio apartment. Big fluffy beds, nice leather couch and chair, with a flat screen TV. Cool jazz was playing on the stereo, close to the ad agencies and quickly has become my fave little hotel. Staff is super friendly and nice. I highly recommend it.

    24/03/14 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    32. Rich V.
    The Inn at El Gaucho is great, up in Beltown so lots of cool places around to grab a bite or a drink.  Pike Market is close by as is the Edgewater.  The prices are right.  The rooms are large and clean.

    I would not recommend this if you need handicap accessibility.

    06/11/12 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    33. Michael C.
    A really nice boutique hotel with a very convenient location.  Close to Pike Place Market, but for me, what was more important was that it was about 3 blocks from the Bell Harbor convention center.  Really nice, stylish rooms, with TONS of space and nice furniture and bed.  Super friendly staff, and I loved the complimentary wines each night.  I've stayed in the area twice a year for a number of years (the same two conferences each year) and so I've tried a lot of the other options.  I'll definitely stay here again.

    16/06/14 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    34. Angella H.
    The Inn was just ok.  The bed was sub-par - very squeaky and very squishy.  I did like that I could walk away from the restaurant with my drinks, up to my room.  But other than that, it was just an average room.  I took several pictures.

    It was walking distance to Pike's Place Market though - about six blocks - which was nice.

    What was above average, was customer service.  Thank you for that!

    02/02/13 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    35. Mr. B.
    BEWARE! This is, without a doubt, the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my life. I booked 2 rooms for 4 nights, for a business conference. I was told the rate was $220 per night. The Inn at El Gaucho has charged our business over $3,200 dollars -- roughly twice the rate they told me it would be when the rooms were booked one month earlier. Their rationale -- "oh, our room rates change daily".

    On checking out, I attempted to have them correct the overcharges, but they refused to give me the agreed upon rate. I asked to speak with the manager, and he refused to speak with me (despite the fact the front desk staff had spoken with him by phone only moments before). I have reported the fraudulent charges to Citibank, and cancelled my card to prevent any further fraudulent activities from the Inn at El Gaucho.

    Aside from the fraud, the hotel itself is run down, dark, and VERY poorly maintained. There is no central air conditioning in any of the rooms. Instead, each room is equipped with an ancient swamp cooler that appears to have been purchased from Home Depot 20 years prior, for around $50 each. Needless to say, these are LOUD, they pour water on the walls and floor, AND THEY DO NOT COOL THE ROOMS.

    Here is a short list of the things I endured during my stay at this atrocious Inn.

    Day 1: It took 30 minutes to check in (no idea why -- we were the only ones at the desk); no internet service; dark, claustrophobic room, with a small window looking out onto 10x10 concrete slab ("the atrium"); no bathtub; handle falling off the shower stall; an ancient 480p television which did not work at all when I first arrived (they got it working after  30 minutes of screwing around with it); the cheapest of basic cable; the room's swamp cooler (AKA "air conditioner") made a loud, raucous death rattle the entire night which woke me up every hour or so.

    Day 2: I asked to be moved to a new room (the new room has windows, hooray!); the card key they provided for the new room does not work, so I have to get a new one from the front desk; intermittent and extremely slow internet service throughout the day (dial-up?); the bathroom sink stopper does not work, so forget about washing your face or shaving; no bathtub; the old, ugly carpet has a large rip running down the middle of the room, exposing the tacks used to fasten it in place; I promptly step on a tack which pierces my foot.

    Day 3: In the morning, I ask the front desk to fix the loud, gurgling "air conditioner" in the new room, and I'm told "oh, I guess it needs to be drained". I leave for the conference and when I return the room is a stifling 85 degrees; another trip to the front desk to complain and see if they can fix it leads to a 45 minute long session in which  the clerk tries unsuccessfully to fix it; I open the window, leave for a few hours, and come back to a room that I can barely sleep in.

    Day 4: The "air conditioner" makes a gurgling noise all night long; the room is HOT; when I wake in the morning the "air conditioner" affixed to the wall is jettisoning water all over the wall and carpet; I put a trash can underneath to catch the water, and immediately inform the front desk; I leave for the day and when I return, I decide I cannot spend another night in this awful, AWFUL place. I attempt to check out early, I'm willing to pay for the one night I'm not staying, but the manager refuses to speak with me, and refuses to refund the $1,600 of over-charges they have already made to my credit card; I report the fraudulent credit card charges to my credit card agency, cancel the card to prevent any further fraud, and leave.

    In summary, if you like dated furniture, cheap posters as decoration, wall colors inspired by Ronald McDonald's costume, maintenance issues that would make a slum lord proud, swelteringly hot rooms, loud noises that wake you throughout the night, dark and dingy rooms, surly and uncooperative management, and having your credit card charged twice the agreed upon rate, then this is the place for you. Otherwise, AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS! Seriously.

    Also, no room service, no elevator, and three flights of stairs to get to the lobby. Good lord. THE WORST.

    03/07/14 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    36. RaChelle D.
    I am so disapointed in the response from management. We were never offered a pull out sofa or roll away and the hotel was very aware we had 6 guests.  Whatever, this hotel could care less about customer service... I can't believe the inaccuracies from his response. Believe me there were no miscommunication, just bad customer service and the only thing this hotel cares about is the bottom line, not the guest experience, also I disputed it with my bank only to find out this morning that they provided evidence with  that I checked in at 9:27 and checked out at 9:28, and it had a signature on it that they claim is mine, I will get to the bottom of this especially since my signature was forged at the El Gaucho INN.

    05/11/14 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    37. Jaime S.
    This place was really fun! The staff are so friendly, helpful and welcoming. The place is quaint and a little bit on the shabby side, but in a charming way. I was bummed that there was no tub in the bathroom, but the shower was fantastic, so I can't complain! The location is excellent, and makes it easy to really enjoy being in Belltown. I highly recommend this place!

    23/02/15 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    38. Joseph F.
    If I weren't traveling with an infant, I would give it a 4 stars. But I was traveling with one and a big ace stroller, and without elevator, it gave me quite a bit of workout hauling the stroller up and down the stairs. Other than no elevator access, room is actually quite nice, and I would actually recommend it to any one. A few highlights

    * No common elevator access to 2nd floor lobby, but this might not be a problem for you.
    * Very good location, sitting in the center of the downtown, yet quite during the night
    * Valet parking only. It's convenient, and you should utilize it.  
    * Hotel offers wine hour at lobby. Yes, you heard it right. Free wine!
    * I get what they are trying to do with the decoration, but having a big picture of a guy full of chest hair staring at me in the bed kinda of freaked me out. I had to take it down before I go to bed, so I don't wake up with this freaky picture in my face..

    21/04/14 | Link | Rating: 3.0
    39. Jo H.
    Wonderful! We booked our room through an Amazon Local deal. The scheduling was easy and we were to get room, parking, champagne, and $75 dining credit.

    We got free Seahawks tickets unexpectedly the day we were going to stay. We arrived early in the morning and the staff valet parked our car and let us store our luggage until check-in time later that evening.

    We went to the game (Hawks won!) and we walked back to the hotel (half hour walk) and we checked into the hotel. She gave us a choice between a couple rooms and even offered to show us the rooms. After we got into our room we went back to the lobby for the wine happy hour. We enjoyed a couple glasses of wine before returning to our room.

    The room was clean, comfortable, and very nice. We had our champagne and a personalized note and cookies were waiting for us. We weren't very hungry so we opted to use our $75 dining credit on a few appetizers from room service. The food was very good.

    We had coffee in the lobby and they were very quick about retrieving our car as we checked out. Overall I was extremely impressed with the customer service. I would love to stay here again sometime.

    30/12/14 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    40. Patti H.
    The Inn is a great place to spend an evening in Seattle. The atmosphere is great and nothing beats walking downstais for dinner. I love it!

    15/12/14 | Link | Rating: 4.0
    41. Izzy L.
    Bait and switch operation. Came here at a locked price but once my party got to the front desk, they said they would only give us our room once we paid an extra $45.

    Price isn't a big deal, but the principal of it was. Didn't have much of a choice at this point. Had I known I was about to get screwed I would've taken my business elsewhere.

    So watch out! They might try to get you and your wallet.

    09/06/14 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    42. Jan V.
    Negative:  dated, 70's fixtures, tiny shower stall, not really well-maintained, and pretty brutal staircase makes this a non-starter for people with any sort of physical challenge. No breakfast. Not cheap (paid $210/nite via Expedia). A/C did not work properly: made loud noise each time it switched off, waking us up.

    Positive:  great location, sweet service, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, good (Keurig) coffee maker.

    19/10/14 | Link | Rating: 2.0
    43. Honest Y.
    This review is a long time coming. I loved staying at this hotel. I never knew El Gaucho had a hotel until one evening I went  with some friends for a celebratory dinner. Some of us had a little too many that evening so we were thinking about getting a couple rooms somewhere close by. The waiter kindly informed us that there was a hotel upstairs so we said "why not". It was such a pleasant surprise! I didn't expect at all that this would be a 5 star hotel. Amazing customer service, I felt like I was at the 4 seasons. I can not say enough about this hotel! A++

    30/04/15 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    44. Honaunau B.
    I'll preface this review by saying that we really wanted to like the Inn at El Gaucho. The price per night was competitive, and everyone was raving about its charm.

    We are currently staying here right now. We reserved a Junior "Suite" for 4 nights, but we are checking out early and moving to a different hotel. We are that unsatisfied.

    As the other reviews mentioned, what you'll first notice at your stay is the smell. The restaurant below doesn't seem to have good ventilation, so it lingers throughout the hotel. It's a shame to have keep your windows shut, so the smell doesn't permeate your room.

    We initially checked into Room 7. The room wasn't much bigger than a standard hotel room you would find elsewhere, so I'm confused as to why their rooms are classified as "suites." We found a hair on the bed comforter (pics to come). Our bathroom door didn't close, let alone lock. The volume on our TV didn't work, so you couldn't hear anything. We were in this room for only 15 minutes max before we asked to be moved.

    Our current room isn't much better. The room appears to not have had a thorough dusting in a few months. Try opening the wooden blinds or look at the glass counters and see for yourself. There are even cobwebs above the shower. Even after staying for 2 nights, this didn't change. The bathroom is cramped, and lacks a bathroom fan. To prevent the bathroom from becoming a hot steam sauna, you have to open the small window which is positioned so that everyone on 1st Avenue can see you shower. The window also needs some clever maneuvering or else it won't stay open. The shoddy construction of the room was an ongoing theme during our stay. The toilet tissue holder, towel rack and door knob are all loose. The light switch at the front door is nearly falling off, so much so you can see into the wall. It looked like there once was a bath towel hook, but it was removed/fell off and never replaced.

    When we returned after our first day out, we were surprised that we didn't get fresh towels. We had to ask the front desk on our way out. When we returned back to the hotel (a few hours later), the new towels were left on an end table, and the old ones were still gracing our bathroom.  

    The wifi is included, but is spotty at best. Many websites timed-out depending where I sat in the room.

    The only redeeming factors:

    John, at the front desk, is friendly, hospitable and accommodating as can be.
    The in-room Keurig machine.
    Wine reception in the evening.

    For 4 nights, our total would've been $559, which is a hefty sum to pay when you're not nearly satisfied, which is why we are checking out a day early. This Inn might be worth it to you if you're dining/drinking at the restaurant below and want a convenient place to crash. I wouldn't stay here if you're on vacation, on a romantic getaway or trying to have a relaxing time.

    Management please take notice. We really want your Inn to improve!

    20/04/14 | Link | Rating: 1.0
    45. Tom F.
    This is really as good as it gets.  I was here much of a week to celebrate a milestone birthday.  The location is easily walkable to Pike Market (15 minutes), Space Needle/Seattle Center (15 minutes), Chinatown (30 minutes), & Elliot Bay Bookstore (30 minutes).  

    The service right from the jump was superb.  Absolutely everything I asked for was easy to get.  Including a wig shop and a trash bag.  The ladies are the front and the gentleman during the day were simply fantastic.

    The rooms was big, airy, comfortable, and clean.

    Hate walking, or cannot walk, we used Uber a few times in a rush.  It was never more than the length of one song for the Uber drive to appear.  

    Location, over a steakhouse, also a small charming one screen movie theater.  Tons of coffee shops and restaurants within a 2 block radius.

    I would also mention the walk to the Norwegian cruise terminal is about 5 minutes or so (and its downhill).

    Would absolutely recommend to someone I care about.  When I am back, I am sure we will stay here.  Positive.

    I feel like I need to add a con, so I am going to add this, its really being very picky, but I would have liked to have a lactose-free creamer to go with the Mini-Moos near the Keurig.  But, really, who the hell goes to Seattle and relies on hotel room coffee.

    09/03/15 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    46. Rockne H.
    On another night in Seattle, we decided to stay at the Inn at El Gaucho as the prices were reasonable and it was still located in part of the city. The pictures looked cool so I thought, why not?

    After pulling up, I realized the valet was $35 a night. It's the only type of parking, other than street parking, so probably the best way to go. Once you drop your car off, you'll go up the stairs and see the front desk. The check in station is pretty small and the staff seem like family, so I knew the place would have more of an intimate feel. I then noticed that there was only a handful of rooms available. I would say no more than 20 rooms on one floor. Once I checked in, I opened the door and I was in heaven!!

    The rooms were spacious and super cute! Leather sofa area, separate from the bed area. The Bose speakers in the room were playing classical music when I entered. There was a table with a handwritten card welcoming me to the room accompanied with chocolate chip cookies. I was in awe. This was such a nice touch to the room and so appreciated! The bathroom was quaint and clean. They were also stocked with GliChrist and Soames products, a super elegant touch! The beds were comfy and had way too many pillows than I could handle but everything was airy.

    I LOVED this place. It was full of personality and the staff really focused on the details of it all. I'm super happy I found this place and will be back to stay here again and again. The next time you're in Seattle, you've gotta try this place out! It's well worth the price and super cute!

    05/08/14 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    47. Dana M.
    This is a wonderful little inn. Located in Belltown it is close to everything. A delicious homemade cookie awaited me in the room! Yummy! We have reservations for dinner at the steakhouse tomorrow, can't wait!

    09/05/15 | Link | Rating: 5.0
    48. Kristin B.
    We stayed here for Valentine's Day after booking one of their special packages and really enjoyed our stay. I could care less that it was V-Day, I was just excited for a kid-free night! With the V-day package, we got a $100 voucher for food at El Gaucho which is where we were planning to have dinner anyways so it was perfect.

    The hotel is definitely at "boutique" hotel and only had 17 suites (I think) but that made the hotel even more special. You can tell right off the bat that the hotel is old but that gives it charm. The front desk gal was super friendly and helpful and even offered us wine to take back to our room. I loved the fireplace lounge area in the lobby as well. It was very inviting.

    Our room was the perfect size and very quaint. Comfortable couch/seating area, nice big comfy bed and a decent bathroom with an awesome shower. I loved the soaps, shampoos and even the free bottle of champagne that waited for us when we arrived.

    The room was exactly what we were looking for and we had a great time, at a reasonable price. We will definitely be back again!

    17/02/15 | Link | Rating: 4.0